Computer Science Teaching Seminar CS 4955

"Remember you are working with humans first, computer science second." -- Your Instructor

Schedule/Road Map


The following is our tentative syllabus for the course, some changes should be expected throughout the semester. I will announce in class or through e-mail any major changes.

Week
Module
Date
Lecture and Readings Assignments Note(s)
1 Ethos, Pathos, and Logos Wed, Jan. 8, 2020
  • Lecture outline
A1 Out - Ethos Reflections
First week of classes, welcome back!
2 Wed, Jan. 15, 2020
A1 due before class

A2 Out - Pathos Reflection
-- --
3 Wed, Jan. 22, 2020
A2 due before class

A3 Out - Logos and first presentation
-- --
4 Wed, Jan. 29, 2020
A3 due before class

A4 - Teaching Reflection #1
-- --
5 Building a Short Course Wed, Feb. 5, 2020
  • Lecture outline
    • An Hour of Code
    • Understanding the Problem
    • Learning Objectives
    • Preparing your syllabus
      • Thinking of your course as a picture
    • Where you want your students to be after the course?
    • Begin Module!
A4 due before class

A5 Out - CS1
-- --
6 Wed, Feb. 12, 2020
  • Lecture outline
    • CS1 Trouble points discussion
    • Learning Objectives
    • Peer Feedback on Syllabus
    • Begin Module!
A5 due before class


A6 Out - Hour of Code Syllabus
-- --
7 Wed, Feb. 19, 2020
  • Lecture outline
    • Teaching Presentation #2
    • Using Analogies and Metaphors
    • Begin Module!
A6 - due before class

A7 Out - Teaching Reflection 2
-- --
8 Wed, Feb. 26, 2020
Collective Class Analogies Guide
-- --
9 N/A Wed, March 4, 2020 ------ (No Class -- Spring Break) ------
-- --
-- --
10 Final Capstone Wed, Mar. 11, 2020
Good, Bad, and Ugly Powerpoint
-- --
11 Wed, March 18, 2020
- Final Lecture Topic Survey
-- --
12 Wed, March 25, 2020
Autograding Framework
-- --
13 Wed, April 1, 2020
  • Lecture outline
    • No Lecture
-- --
Mike out of town for Conference
14 Wed, April 8, 2020
-- --
Last day of class, the course is over!
15 Wed, April 15, 2020
Reading Day (Undergraduate)
-- --
-- --